0 0 votes
Article Rating
Last updated: January 26, 2018 at 16:05 pm

atlantic photoGuyana, the only official English speaking country in the continent of South America is bordered by Brazil to the south, Suriname to the east, Venezuela to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the north. Guyana may also be considered a Caribbean country because of its historical, cultural and economical ties to the Caribbean Region. On this note, Guyana is a member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) and began its civilization in the same way as most Caribbean countries: colonies of Britain.

The area of Guyana is approximately 83000 square miles, and the population is about 700,000 people.

The economy of Guyana is considered poor, and main industrial activities include: rice farming, sugar production and gold and bauxite mining. Guyana is expected to start producing crude oil in the year 2020 after a deal with Oil Giant EXXCON.

Religion in Guyana

Guyana comprises three main religious backgrounds:

Christianity – Introduced by the white colonial rulers from England.

Islam – brought by East Indians who were contracted as indentured laborers on the sugar estates.

Hinduism – brought also by East Indians who were contracted as indentured laborers on the sugar estates.

There are also small groups of non-religious, witchcraft, voodoo and other religious practices in Guyana.

Most Africans have converted to Christianity after the abolition of slavery and also many East Indians.

Government of Guyana

The Head of State of Guyana is the president, after whom is the Prime Minister. At present, there are two main political parties fighting for power: the PPP/C and the PNC/R

To learn more about Guyana, go here…

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments